Voting for by-elections under way in Rajanpur’s NA-193

By-elections for Rajanpur’s NA-193 National Assembly seat commenced on Sunday despite security concerns by the Punjab caretaker government.

The NA-193 seat had fallen vacant following the death of PTI’s Sardar Jaffar Khan Leghari in December 2022.

A total of 11 candidates are contesting in the polls today. However, a tough contest is expected between PTI’s Mohsin Leghari and PML-N’s Ammar Leghari.

Previously, the PTI had nominated its chairman Imran Khan as a candidate. But earlier this month, the former prime minister withdrew his candidacy in an apparent bid to avert possible disqualification in the Tyrian White case.

The voting in Rajanpur began at 8am today and will continue till 5pm.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), there are 379,204 registered voters in the constituency, of which 206,497 are male and 172,709 are female voters.

The commission said 237 polling stations have been established in the constituency. More than 200 Punjab Rangers personnel are also fulfilling duties as a quick response force, it added.

In videos shared by the electoral body today, a number of voters can be seen gathered inside the polling stations.

Meanwhile, both the PML-N and PTI tweeted that a generous number of voters have shown up at the parties’ camps in the city.

Leave a Comment